Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

The Tragic Tale of Bob


2005-08-01 at 7:36 p.m.

There has to be a point where you stop sympathizing and coddling a victim of an accident and start kicking ass.

My father has reached new lows in feeling sorry for himself. He no longer cares about anything, all he does is make himself worse. He is severely depressed. He was re-admitted to the hospital today, suffering from dehydration brought on by yet another bout of diarrhea. It's a viral infection that he continues to nurture by not keeping himself clean.

There's only so much medication and doctors can do for a body. A great deal of the recovery process depends on the person's will to get better. Dad has no will. He's completely given up.

Is it wrong to think he's being selfish? He's driving my mom to a breakdown. She's trying to care for him and work and pay bills and everything and all he does is scream and yell at her, call her names and tell her that he hates her. He refuses to participate in physical therapy, he doesn't want to help in taking care of himself. He's like a baby, a baby that curses like a pirate.

He's causing my brother terrible stress, which I'm sure isn't helping his brand-spanking new marriage and Lord knows, I'm not exactly the poster girl for Happy Fun Time right now.

Damn it. I'm so frustrated.


< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com