Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Troy Boy Toy


2004-05-17 at 11:18 p.m.

Troy: Eh.

There. That's my movie review. Okay, here's more: the boys were hot, hot, hot. I almost saw Brad Pitt's thingie. And Orlando's, so, it wasn't a total waste of $6.00. I got my beefcake.

But it's hard to concentrate on Brad Pitt as Achilles, because to me, well, he's Brad Pitt. It was a problem. Plus, the movie was hella bloody, which normally doesn't bother me, but usually, if there's gonna be blood, it had better be funny, too.

There was nothing funny about this movie, except for the synchronized horse dismounting. That made me chortle. Going in there knowing what was going to happen kind of ruined it for me, too.

Same thing happened to me while I was watching Peacemaker Kurogane. I mean, the Shinsengumi lost, Okita died of tuberculosis and Hijikata got shot. It was so hard to enjoy the show knowing they were all going to die.

For those of you who don't know what Peacemaker Kurogane is, it's a Japanese anime set during the Tokugawa Bakufu, a revolution against the Tokugawa warlords of Japan during the 1860s-70s. The Shinsengumi, the heroes of this show, fought to maintain the old government and lost. Right. Sorry. Moving on.

Special K and I had a great time goofing off, but I think I might have spent too much money, which, given my current perilous financial status, is a very, very bad thing. God damn it.

Special K just got a job teaching high school geology in Illinois. You go, girl! She's going to be making $37,000.00 a year. I'm still making $10,000.00, so yeah, I'm hella jealous.

I know that as a grad student, I'm supposed to be poor, but for heaven's sake! >.<

Okay, I'm going to go now before I start whining. Nobody likes a whiner.

0 comments so far

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com