Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Well, I'm A Bit Unsure


2004-02-12 at 12:10 a.m.

So, I've been offered the job. Director of the wee public library. The pay would be about double what I make now, which sounds real impressive until you discover that I only make about $6,500.00 a year. So, that would rachet me up to about $13,000.00 a year. Woo. I'll be rolling in pennies in no time.

If I did take the job, I'd probably keep the hellish evil job at Brimstone University's Library of the Underworld, that way I'd actually come out of this making more. Because if I quit that job, then I would be making basically the same amount of money. Let's do some math. Please keep in mind I was a history major in college and the only numbers I had to remember were dates.

Gem-chan's Salary Math:

Wee public assistant + Satan's Library= $13,000.00

Wee public directorship - Satan's library=$13,000.00

Wee public directorship + Satan's library=$19,500.00 <-Above poverty level! Holy crap!

So, there are some benefits, more money (sort of), prestige (okay, in my mind, anyway), mucho experience, I'd get to set my own hours, play with a budget (I'd get to go shopping! With other people's money! Woo!)and I'd be my own boss.

But I'm still hesitating to say yes. My boss told me she thinks I can do it. She has total faith in me. My two best friends have basically said the same thing. My mom told me to do what was best for me and my lawyer brother told me he'd need an upfront payment of $500.00 before he could offer any advice. The bastard. Dad hasn't weighed in yet, but I bet you he'll basically say the same thing mom did.

So, why am I hesitating? I don't know. It's a life decision. And, despite the fact that I tend to make life decisions on a whim, (I think I'll leave all my friends and transfer to a private school. Why not go to college 2,000 miles away? Take care of a baby? Why not?)I'm not making the usual leap here.

Maybe because this is the first major decision of my adult/professional life. Maybe because I'm scared I'll screw up. Maybe because I don't have as much faith in myself as other people do. Take your pick.

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com