Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Bobito Update and List


2005-01-28 at 12:47 a.m.

We moved Bobito to a rehab hospital this evening to begin his physical/mental therapy. He's progressing fine physically (as fine as a 60 year old man in bad health with multiple fractures and a heart condition can progress), but his mind is still fuzzy.

Today I stayed with him for about 10 hours and I'm ashamed to admit that I was slightly relieved to leave him at the end of the evening. I've been spending the night at the hospital with him, mostly for my mother's peace of mind for the past couple of nights, and it's been emotionally draining to watch a man I've always considered brilliant struggle to remember things, act childish (more than usual) and say things that he would never had said before. I want my daddy back.

Now that he's at the rehab hospital, I don't have to stay with him and be forced to contemplate the awful possibility that he will never regain his sharp mind and that I will always have to keep an eye on him to make sure he doesn't take his clothes off in public or curse an innocent bystander.

It's easier to be optimistic if I'm not constantly being discouraged. The neurologist said he'd start to improve. Please, god, let him improve.

I'm going back to New York on Saturday, weather permitting. I've put my life on hold for almost three weeks and it's time to get back to my world.


Because I don't want to think...here's a list I stole from freshhell, who stole it from someone else:

THREE NAMES YOU GO BY:
1) Margaret
2) Margs
3) Call me Queen! HAHAHAHAHAAA!

THREE SCREEN NAMES YOU HAVE HAD ::
1 ) paxil60 (named after my old antidepressants)
2) gemini523
3) gemchan-san

THREE THINGS YOU LIKE ABOUT YOURSELF ::
1) My awesome modesty
2) My sense of humor
3) My curiosity

THREE THINGS YOU DON'T LIKE ABOUT YOURSELF ::
1) I have no willpower
2) My short attention span
3) I'm lazy

THREE PARTS OF YOUR HERITAGE ::
1) Scottish
2) German
3) Mexican

THREE THINGS THAT SCARE YOU ::
1) Ventriloquist dummies
2) Mortality
3) I'm livin' it, baby

THREE OF YOUR EVERYDAY ESSENTIALS ::
1) A book
2) Effexor
3) Something funny

THREE THINGS YOU ARE WEARING RIGHT NOW ::
1) Jeans
2) Obnoxious Carebears t-shirt
3) Glasses

THREE OF YOUR FAVORITE BANDS OR MUSICAL ARTISTS (at the moment) ::
1) Keane
2) Beethoven
3) Guns n'Roses

THREE OF YOUR FAVORITE SONGS (at the moment)::
1) Symphony no. 9
2) Somewhere only we know
3) Rich Girl

THREE NEW THINGS YOU WANT TO TRY IN THE NEXT 12 MONTHS ::
1) Self control
2) Sexiness
3) World peace

THREE THINGS YOU WANT IN A RELATIONSHIP ::
1) Humor
2) Trust
3) Affection

TWO TRUTHS AND A LIE ::
1) I met Bruce Campbell
2) I'm not wearing underwear
3) I hate seafood

THREE PHYSICAL THINGS ABOUT THE OPPOSITE SEX (or same) THAT APPEAL TO YOU ::
1) Tall (why? I don't know-probably because I'm short)
2) Strong shoulders and back
3) Nice smile

THREE THINGS YOU JUST CAN'T DO ::
1) Stay away from Ben and Jerry
2) Keep a secret
3) Drive stick

THREE OF YOUR FAVORITE HOBBIES ::
1) Web page design
2) Reading
3) Writing

THREE THINGS YOU WANT TO DO REALLY BADLY RIGHT NOW ::
1) Hee hee.
2) Pay off all my debts
3) Finish grad school

THREE CAREERS YOU'RE CONSIDERING ::
1) Uh...librarian?
2) Wedding planner
3) Personal stylist

THREE PLACES YOU WANT TO GO ON VACATION ::
1) Scotland-particularly the Heberdian (sp?) islands
2) Greece
3) France

THREE KID'S NAMES ::
1) Callum
2) Evelyn
3) Ophelia

THREE THINGS YOU WANT TO DO BEFORE YOU DIE ::
1) Write a book
2) Meet a celebrity and not embarass myself
3) Bitch slap long list of Republicans and conservatives that have pissed me off

THREE WAYS I AM STEREOTYPICALLY A BOY ::
1) I require complete domain over the remote control
2) I like dumb boy movies like 'Old School' and 'Harold and Kumar Go to White Castle'
3) I pretty much live in jeans

THREE WAYS I AM STEREOTYPICALLY A CHICK ::
1) Shoes. Imelda Marcus BOWS TO ME!!!
2) I love doing my nails
3) I cry during Hallmark commercials

THREE CELEB CRUSHES ::
1) Orlando Bloom
2) Johnny Depp
3) Jon Stewart

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com