Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

I am vexed.


2004-08-04 at 9:59 p.m.

I am vexed and highly so. I know I have been very vocal about my abject hatred of the Library of the Underworld, but as I have said before, I need the money, desperately. So, since this other job fell through, I was willing to go back to the LoU with a patently fake smile and take all the shit in exchange for a paycheck that would allow me to pay all my bills on time.

Then I get this e-mail from the evil slag:

-----Original Message-----

From: Evil Slag

Sent: Tue 8/3/2004 3:38 PM

To: Gem-chan

Cc: Useless Leader; Catbert, evil HR director; #2

Subject: Case Library

Gem-chan,

I am writing to let you know that the library has had to reorganize circulation shifts for this next year due to construction. It has been necessary to add hours to some shifts and to eliminate some work hours to make that possible. The hours required for the casual wage, part-time position you held last year were eliminated in this process. Based on this new schedule, we will not be re-hiring you this fall. A letter will follow this e-mail.

We wish you well in your new position at the Wee Public Library!

Evil Slag

Library of the Underworld Circulation Dept.

Brimstone University

666 666-6666

[email protected]

Fine. I figured that was coming. But then one of my ex-co-workers stopped by my library today and told me I should check out the Evil HR page. So I did. And guess what I found?

POSITION: Circulation Staff Assistant (no benefits) (back to summary)

10:00 PM - 2:00 AM, Sunday - Tuesday

4:00 PM -10:00 PM Friday & Saturday

During the academic year

DEPARTMENT: Library of the Underworld

EXPECTED APPOINTMENT DATE: August 25, 2004

ESSENTIAL FUNCTIONS: Assists patrons of the Library of the Underworld at the Circulation Desk, responds to emergencies, monitors the noise level of the library, and shelves books as needed. Trains and supervises student workers, manages library materials, answers the phone, making room reservations, enters and updates patron records, recalls and searches books, communicates library borrowing policies and other library information. Performs other duties as assigned.

QUALIFICATIONS: High School diploma required. College degree preferred. Office experience and some library experience helpful. Knowledge of computers essential. Excellent interpersonal and communications skills are required Must be detail oriented.

Must have the ability to work with minimal supervision.

Must be able to work days, evenings and weekend shifts as required. Performance

of duties requires periods of standing, bending, shelving and pushing loadedbook carts.

DEADLINE: Review will begin immediately and continue until position is filled.

Huh. That looks awful familiar, does it not? Gee. That looks like my job, you know the one that the evil slag so helpfully explained: "The hours required for the casual wage, part-time position you held last year were eliminated in this process".

Does that look eliminated to you? It looks alive and well to me.

I smell some bullshit, children. Now I am angry. And since I am a vengeful person when provoked, (which is rare, really, normally I'm a creampuff), steps will be taken. Revenge will be had. After all, what exactly do I have to lose?

Ha ha! In a fit of rage, I created a new diaryring. The 'This Job is Fucked' diaryring. Join if you think so, too!

2 comments so far



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com