Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Viva la familia!


2004-03-21 at 11:17 p.m.

This is the first time I've been able to sit back and take a breath since Friday morning. Whoosh.

I'm still in Dallas, sittin' at my grandparents' computer (which, incidentally, used to be mine) and typin' away because everyone's asleep and I have to leave for the airport at 4:20 A.M., so I can't sleep. Thanks, Dad, you doofus. You are now banned forevermore from making plane reservations. While flying here, he arranged for me to have a 3 hour layover in Detroit. Yeargh.

So, I forgot that I had two papers due...one on Saturday and one today. I juggled my weekend spending half the time with the family and the other half working my little ass off. I would like to say that I pulled 2 papers out of my ass in a 24 hour period. 25 total pages. My ass is chapped and I'm tired. But let's not dwell on that. Let's talk about the fam.

Have I ever mentioned how much I love my family? I am blessed, so wonderfully blessed to have such a large assemblage of wierd, sweet and confusing people share my DNA. I spent three days celebrating my grandfather's 80th birthday with about 150 members of the family. We sound like the mob, but we're not. Well, except for Uncle Carmine.

We joked around and ate...a LOT. In fact, it's a good thing I'm typing rather than talking because if I was, you'd be covered with food right now. I'm trying to get my fill of good Southern BBQ and grandma's Mexican food before I'm shoved tragically back into my life of microwave pot pies and ramen. Hm. Time for another tamale.

Another nice perk is that I got some quality dirt on my mom. My parents and Big Al had to leave this afternoon to go back to El Paso, so I spent the evening alone with my grandparents and pumped them for blackmail information.

The next time my mom gets snippy with me, I will remind her that she was a leash baby (My mom! Miss Dignity and Bearing was on a leash! HA!) and that she used to beat up all the neighborhood boys and made them cry. That's right, my mom was a leash wearing bully. She also apparently whipped her uncle in the face with a belt. My mom is nuts.

I spent a good part of this weekend speaking in pidgin Spanish, which is what all my older relatives do. I found myself slipping in and out of the language easily. I don't tend to do it in NY because people would look at me like I'm mad, but I get around my family and it's 'madre dios!' this and 'donde esta?' that.

It was fun to sit with my grandma and her sister, my insane tia Celia and all the assorted sisters-in-law, aunts and cousins and listen to them talk about the old days and gossip. They're a bunch of sweet old biddies, every last one of them.

And you should have HEARD my little old Mexican grandma rail on about Bush. Half of what she said was in Spanish and very rude. My sweet little old grandma! It's funny and educational.

Yick. I don't want to go back to New York and work at Satan's Library and school and my messy apartment, bills and empty fridge. Every time I come to visit my grandparents, it's like I'm a little kid again. I feel safe and insulated from the world. *Sigh* Stupid world. I want a tamale.

0 people want a tamale, too



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com