Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Librarian Dilemma


2004-04-06 at 3:33 p.m.

Here's a librarian dilemma:

Sean Hannity, one of the most ignorant, venal and vile men to walk the planet has the #1 Non-fiction book according to the New York Times Best Seller List. Here's a description of his book from the venerable newspaper of record:

"The author argues that the war on terror must involve the defeat of liberalism as well as despotism."

.:Shudder:.

Now, I forced myself to purchase Bill O'Liely's latest to balance the fact that I also got Al Franken's book. But I also have Michael Moore's. So, I guess, maybe, I should balance it out with a conservative book? But, lord help me, does it have to be Hannity's?

.:Shudder again:.

Librarians always have to be careful that they don't practice censorship by not purchasing books for their patrons because they disagree with the views set forth by the book's author.

I myself like to pretend that I staunchly stick to the ideas set forth by the American Library Association's Code of Ethics, specifically number VII, which states:

VII. We distinguish between our personal convictions and professional duties and do not allow our personal beliefs to interfere with fair representation of the aims of our institutions or the provision of access to their information resources.

But God help me, I'd rather poke my eyes out with a sharpened stick than put money in Hannity's pocket or disseminate his evil and treacherous thoughts to an unsuspecting populace.

Can I just pretend that I don't know it exists? "LALALALALAAA! I can't hear you Sean Hannity! LALALALALAAA!"

Luckily, no one has specifically requested the book, so I can perhaps put off buying it all together using the "no patron-base" argument, I guess. But I still feel guilty.

We liberals like to pretend that we're better than those conservatives who move to censor books, television, movies or music that they don't agree with, but don't we do it ourselves? Am I not censoring Sean Hannity because I don't agree with him and I think he's a vile little troll? Am I not depriving my patrons of the opportunity to read his book and make up their own minds? Don't I trust my patrons? Should I be making a judgement call for them? Do I really know what's best?

No, no and no. You know, in many ways, I, a member of the ACLU, registered democrat and staunch advocate against censorship, am just as bad as those people whom I fight against. Two sides of the same coin. And that's damn depressing.

2 comments so far



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com