Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Drop it like it's....um, hot or something.


2005-03-03 at 12:08 p.m.

Why is it that it's taken me so long to read PorkTornado's blog? I am a fool. I actually snorted while reading it- the kind of painful snort that scrapes the back of your throat- and then I broke out laughing, which wouldn't be a bad thing except I'm at work and I really should be looking serious and intellectual instead of teary-eyed with glee. People have a tendency not to take you seriously if you spend a lot of time at work giggling about 'man-panzees' and such.

I have no right to complain about people not taking me seriously, mostly because I'm a dork and I wear my dork colors badly, but with pride. So, I giggle and make Star Trek references and wear naughty Catholic school girl outfits to family-style Christmas parades, I snort and guffaw and chortle and giggle whenever anyone uses words like "penal" and "punic". (Not that this happens often, but still!)I wear Hello Kitty pirate t-shirts that have slogans that say "It's all about the booty" and my sneakers have Matthew McConaghey's name drawn in little hearts and skull & crossbone shoelaces. Soooo...yeah, probably not going to be taken seriously.

However, when I call people on the phone, they don't know that I'm wearing a Mr. T shirt, that I'm tapping a Bad Batz Maru pen against my Orlando Bloom calendar and that all my socks have monkeys on them. All they hear is my sexy professional phone voice, which I honed after several soul-less summers working as a receptionist.

I was thinking about this because I have to call all the people running for office in the village to invite them to an Open House Meet the Candidates thing and for all they know, I'm a sexy librarian who's just dying to let her bun down and party.
Who says I'm not? Well, besides all those people.




< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com