Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

A clear-cut case of hag-itis.


2005-10-04 at 5:01 a.m.

I think my mom is beautiful. She's one of those people who only improve with age. Maybe it's her Mexican genes and her good bone structure, but at almost 60, she looks easily a decade younger, maybe more. But then, she's always been beautiful. It's genetic. My grandmother is 80 but doesn't look a day over 60. Plus, she dresses fabulous and works it. (You go, grandma!)

It is a mystery to me how exactly my mom ended up with my father, Super Nerd. Actually, he's always wondered as well. Mom says it's because he was wierd and that amused her. Before you say that's no basis for a marriage, remember they've been married 37 years and counting. And she's only tried to kill him twice. That we know of.

But back to my mom's appearance. I look a little like her, at certain angles and we also look eerily alike in our drivers license photos, but that's because we were both pissed at the time. But, sadly, I look more like my father's mother. I say sadly because although she was pretty when she was younger, she didn't age well.

I may have some of my mother's genes, but my father's more dominant ones will guarentee that by the time I'm 50, I will resemble a troll looking for a bridge to roost under. I suspect I'll be a bald hunchback with a crone's face. I'll be one of those stout old matrons of the Scotch/German variety with stumpy legs and no lips. Thanks, dad. Not only did your fabulous genes make me fat, prone to diabetes, depressed and cursed with acne and thinning hair, but you also gave me hag-itis.

And my brother? That asshole took all the good Mexican genes. He's thin (although, happily, he's been gaining weight. ha!), athletic, good looking with clear skin and thick dark hair. The bastard. He'll only look better as he ages. I will kill him.

I was just thinking about this as I slathered my face with yet more acne cream and took a good look at the clump of hair in my hair brush. Perhaps I will avoid some of the hag-itis because I don't smoke or drink, which, when done to excess, ages you. Maybe with the judicious use of cosmetics and a good plastic surgeon, people won't think I'm wearing a Halloween costume all year long. Maybe I should stop feeling sorry for myself.

Nah.


Incidentally, remember all my issues with the 'Library of the Underworld'? Remember how I predicted it's downfall due to mismanagement and overwrought construction issues? God, I love being right. It makes me feel all smug and self-satisfied. And now they're hurting for employees because people keep resigning.

Here's some fun articles from the Brimstone University student paper. Note my ex-boss is in full damage control mode. And all that crap about being for the students? No. The library's main purpose is to look impressive to lure future students and get $$ from alumni, not to mention look good to other universities. It's all about prestige. Not education. Anyway, the articles...

Library Project a Case of Delays
Missing: Librarians
Case Library Construction Frustrating
Ahh. I love being disgruntled.

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com