Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Your own personal Library Jesus


2005-01-08 at 2:11 p.m.

As I mentioned earlier, our video circulation has outstripped our book circulation by about 400. I am praying that it is because of the holidays and the fact that all the new books aren't here yet. Please, Library Jesus, let that be the case.

People come in and make a bee-line for the videos and I just want to scream, "READ A FUCKING BOOK! BROADEN YOUR HORIZONS! FOR THE LOVE OF LIBRARY JESUS!"

Sometimes people who come to the library compliment me on my intelligence. Which irks me because, really, it makes me feel a wee bit self-conscious. And I want to say that the reason I know so much random, useless crap and the reason I can use words such as "ironic" correctly is because I READ! SERIOUSLY! BOOKS MADE ME SMART! WATCHING ADAM SANDLER MOVIES DIDN'T DO IT!

I've become so embittered by the whole process of my beloved little library becoming a free fucking Blockbuster that I've embarked on a journey which involves me only buying snooty videos. I'm excercising my collection development policy veto and buying movies with substance. It'll probably cut down on circ, but I don't really care. I want people to READ! Even if it's Danielle Steel! Even if it's the ghost-written dingo crap of Thomas Kinkade! READ! READ! READ!

ARGGGGGHHHH!

Ahem. Pardon my breakdown.

Anywhoodles, I made some reference in this entry to Library Jesus. I have decided I needed someone to pray to when I'm pissed about overdue stuff, missing books, budget cuts and people applying for library cards just to get out DVDs. Regular Jesus has waaay too much stuff to do, so Library Jesus it is. I figure hell, if Joseph Smith can do it [make shit up], so can I!

Library Jesus looks out for us [librarians] all, but he doesn't necessarily take an active role in anything. He just sort of hangs out and lets me vent. Kind of like real Jesus, only without the massive following and I'm pretty sure Library Jesus has never miraculously appeared on a tortilla. But I'll check the fridge when I get home.


News flash...

Bobito was in a car accident. Luckily, no one was hurt or killed, including his car, despite the fact that he did donuts across three lanes of freeway traffic. Go Bobito, go!

In an unrelated note, he also has some sort of herniated disk thing in his back and has to have surgery. So, it's not been a good week for Bobito.

I may never have known this if I hadn't called Momdingo about something this morning and specifically ASKED about Bobito.

Once again, no one tells me ANYTHING! Bobito could be in the hospital in traction and I wouldn't know. Thanks, Momdingo, for keeping me abreast of things. Grr.



Currents...

Currently READING!!!
Ironically, nothing right now. There are books I got for Christmas that I had to ship to myself because I had no room in my luggage, I'm waiting for those.

Currently Hearing
Artificial Joy Club, 'Melt'

Currently Watching...
Educational T.V.

Currently Tripping Over...
Boots I've conveniently left right in the middle of the dining room floor.

Currently Troubled By...
Other than the fact that no one is reading? Ummm...the state of the world?

Currently, in E'ville...
30 degrees, periods of snow, occasionally mixing with sleet, will continue through mid afteroon. Additional snowfall between noon and 3 PM will be 1 to 2 inches.


< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com