Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

News of my death has been greatly exaggerated


2005-09-28 at 11:12 p.m.

Did you miss me? Did you even notice I was gone?

Well, I didn't spend my time off in idleness. I was in Texas, El Paso, to be exact, where the city motto is, "It's not the end of the world, but you can see it from here." No, it's not. It's actually something stupid like "Sun City" or something.

I was visiting the family, checking up on friends, the usual. Nothing horrible, nothing memorable. Well, I did gain five pounds from eating nothing but cheesy, cheesy Mexican goodness and Whataburger for ten days straight and I was bitten by a rat, but other than that, I quite enjoyed the play.

Of course, my trip to Texas WOULD coincide with a certain hurricane. I found it mildly humorous that the name of that devastating storm was also the name of my uncle's ex-wife, whom he often called 'Hurricane Rita', and, like her storm counterpart, wreaked havoc and took off with houses.

Since I was on the complete other end of Texas, the hurricane affected me not. El Paso housed some refugees, but that's about it. Oh, I have a cousin who lives in that area, but he got out with his kids just fine. His wife, who is a neo-natal intensive care unit nurse, had to stay in Houston in the hospital where she works. I guess all medical employees had to stay in order to help any injured.

Anyway, I'm currently at a professional holding pattern. I'm graduated, now I must find a job. So, I'm waiting. Life is on hold and I find it annoying.

Hmmm, I must go now and see why my kitchen sink is making some sort of horrible whining noise. Mysterious!




< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com