Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Fashion Whore


2004-02-12 at 11:55 p.m.

Little known fact...I am a fashion whore. Yes, I am a catalog whore and a fashion whore. I love couture. Can't wear it, can't even dream of affording it, but damn, I love to look at it.

Once upon a time, I dreamed of being a fashion designer. I had a portfolio, a subscription to Women's Wear Daily and Vogue and spent a good deal of my time designing clothes, planning fashion shows and watching anything fashion-related on E!.

I also used to hate Karl Lagerfeld with the heat of a thousand suns. Merely bringing up that fey, fan waving hack was enough to rachet up my blood pressure a notch or two. I'm ambivilent about him these days, but oh, once upon a time, I dreamed of kicking him in his dumpy little basket.

Ahem. Anyway, my burning hatred for Karl Lagerfeld aside, I loved fashion. And although I no longer design dresses or dream of pushing Lagerfeld in front of a bus, I do still pay attention to fashion. My favorite designers really haven't changed in ten years. I suppose that's because they are imbued with eternal, classic good taste.

I did drop Calvin Klein from my list of favorites, mostly because his advertisements annoy me. If I want to see emaciated crack whores, I'll watch COPS.

So, here is a list of my favorite designers:

Old School:

Hubert de Givenchy

Coco Chanel

Elsa Schiaparelli

Cristobal Balenciaga

Charles Frederick Worth

Callot Soeurs

Madeline Vionnet

Yves Saint Laurent

Not So Old School...

Vera Wang

Betsey Johnson

Issey Miyaki

Carolina Herrera

Dolce & Gabbana



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com