Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Cha cha cha Charmin!


2003-05-01 at 5:33 p.m.

I woke up today with THE BIGGEST AFRO I HAVE EVER SEEN! It was quite tragic. Since I am white, and lame, there was no way I could pretend I was just being stylish. A quick check of the weather revealed the culprit: 100% humidity. Gahhhh, it's like walking through water.

My hair and I, we don't deal well with humidity. See, like I mentioned in an earlier entry, I grew up in El Paso, TX, whose average humidity is something like 2% and yearly rainfall 4 inches. The slightest bit of humidity...let's say over 25%, and I wilt like a flower while my hair frizzes out to basketball-sized levels. I am afraid to walk past any basketball hoops, lest someone try to play a game with my head.

All those products in the hair aisle, which promise frizz-free results are LIARS! I have used every damn thing on the market and I still look like I stuck my finger in an electric socket. Think Christina Aguilera's hair in the Lady Marmalade video...only not on purpose, oh and I'm definitely not that skinny or skimpily dressed. And I have a better sense of style than she does. Oh well, if I had to pick her or Britney Spears, it would be Christina all the way. You go badly dressed skinny faux hispanic girl!

It's storming right now, rain and thunder. I wish the power would go out so I could close the library and go home. Alas! It looks like it's clearing up, dammit.

Hmmm...I just took the snob test that Amblus recommended, it's from the PBS show 'Manor House'. Here's a link. I'm 52% snob! Wahhh! It's true! I DO buy quilted toilet paper (Cha cha cha Charmin!) and I DO judge people by their shoes! (Shoes that piss me off today...high heels whose heels are actually little balls. I saw someone wearing them today and I was just filled with rage. They are so icky!) *sniff* I'm a jeeerrrrkkkkk! At least I hide it well.

Speaking of Amblus, I've decided to take her reading challenge. A quick glance down her list reveales that I've read almost all of those books, soo...I'm going to pick up Seabiscuit. It's been pretty popular around here and I did just have to send it out to another library last week. As soon as it comes back, I'm gonna snatch it.



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com