Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Bathtub Hijinks


2004-01-27 at 3:08 p.m.

I told you Millard Fillmore was a bastard. And now I have proof.

See, I'm taking a reference class this semester and one of my assignments is to find the answer to the question: Who put the first bathtub in the White House?

A lot of people will say Millard Fillmore. And to them I say, "You stupid bastards! Check your facts!", and "Damn, you're a geek. An incorrect geek, but a geek nonetheless."

Millard Fillmore did not install the first bathtub in the White House. The "fact" was reported by H.L. Mencken, a writer of some esteem in the New York Evening Mail in late December 1917. His article "A Neglected Anniversary" claimed that Fillmore was the one who put the bathtub in the casa blanca in 1851 or thereabouts. He later admitted it was a hoax.

Of course, you have to ask yourself "What sort of evil man perpetrates such a vicious bathtub related smear on the name of Millard Fillmore?" Or not.

But most people think it is the gospel truth. You know, the people who care about bathtub lore, but not enough to get their damn facts straight.

According to my sources, the problem is that a real answer is a bit tricky. People who know all sorts of useless facts, such as who put the first bathtub in the White House either credit James Madison or James Monroe. Depends on who you ask.

As part of my assignment, I've actually contacted the damn White House to find out the truth. They closed early because of the threat of snow, (Right, so it snows and the government shuts down. I'm feeling reaaaalllll confident in my government right now.)but I'll let you know what they say as soon as they get back to me.

Because, like me, you care.


Currents...

Currently reading...

'Under the Banner of Heaven: A Story of Violent Faith' by Jon Krakauer

Let me tell you, I'm finding Mormons real scary right about now.



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com